70 Members of Congress to Wear No Labels’ Problem Solver Lapel Pins During Tonight’s State of the Union, Signifying Support for Four Big Goals

Seventy members of Congress — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents — agree to four big goals for the country. Nearly all of these members will be wearing No Labels’ Problem Solver lapel pins in the House chamber during tonight’s State of the Union Address, signifying their support for a new politics of problem solving. No Labels National Co-Chairman Jon Huntsman released the following statement:

“This pin is the symbol of a new type of politics, in which leaders agree to goals as a first step, similar to the way President Clinton and Speaker Gingrich did in the 1990s, when they first agreed to the goal of a balanced budget and then followed through with the policy specifics to meet that goal.”

The members wearing the Problem Solver lapel pin tonight have agreed to the following four goals:

  • Create 25 million new jobs over the next 10 years;
  • Secure Medicare and Social Security for another 75 years;
  • Balance the federal budget by 2030; and
  • Make America energy secure by 2024.

“The first step in this process is to agree to goals,” continued Chairman Huntsman.  “Only then can the policy specifics follow.  No Labels will lead the conversation by unveiling its own National Strategic Agenda in New Hampshireon October 5 in its effort to launch a new era of problem solving in government.”

“No Labels will be working to make the Agenda and this new politics of problem solving a central point of discussion during the 2016 presidential campaign,” added No Labels National Co-Chairman Joe Lieberman.  “It is easy for a presidential candidate to say he or she wants to be a ‘uniter, not a divider.’  The challenge for the next president is to explain specifically how he or she will do that.  The National Strategic Agenda is the how – the process that will begin with goal setting, followed by productive negotiation, and end with real solutions for the country.  The final product will help make the next president’s first 100 days as successful as possible.”

No Labels also announced a six-month television advertising campaign in Iowa and New Hampshire.

View the ad here.


he following senators and representatives agree with the process of creating a National Strategic Agenda and the four goals; many will be wearing a No Labels Problem Solver lapel pin this evening:

Rep. Brad Ashford (D-NE)
Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH)
Rep. Andy Barr (R-KY)
Rep. Ami Bera (D-CA)
Rep. Don Beyer (D -VA)
Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA)
Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA)
Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO)
Rep. Larry Bucshon (R-IN)
Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-IL)
Rep. Tony Cardenas (D-CA)
Sen. Bob Casey (D-PA)
Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI)
Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO)
Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)
Rep. Jim Costa (D-CA)
Rep. Ryan Costello (R-PA)
Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL)
Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL)
Rep. Jeff Denham (R-CA)
Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA)
Rep. Bob Dold (R-IL)
Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA)
Rep. Elizabeth Esty (D-CT)
Rep. Chaka Fattah (D-PA)
Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI)
Sen. Cory Gardner (R-CO)
Rep. Chris Gibson (R-NY)
Rep. Richard Hanna (R-NY)
Sen. Dean Heller (R-NV)
Rep. Jim Himes (D -CT)
Rep. Lynn Jenkins (R-KS)
Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH)
Rep. David Joyce (R-OH)
Rep. John Katko (R-NY)
Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
Sen. Angus King (I-ME)
Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL)
Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ)
Rep. Annie Kuster (D-NH)
Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ)
Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-IL)
Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-IA)
Rep. Alan Lowenthal (D-CA)
Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY)
Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV)
Rep. David McKinley (R-WV)
Rep. Patrick Murphy (D-FL)
Rep. Rick Nolan (D-MN)
Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA)
Rep. Scott Peters (D-CA)
Rep. Mike Quigley (D-IL)
Rep. Tom Reed (R-NY)
Rep. Reid Ribble (R-WI)
Rep. Tom Rice (R-SC)
Rep. Scott Rigell (R-VA)
Rep. Dennis Ross (R-FL)
Rep. Raul Ruiz (D-CA)
Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH)
Rep. Matt Salmon (R-AZ)
Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR)
Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL)
Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)
Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH)
Rep. GT Thompson (R-PA)
Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI)
Rep. David Valadao (R-CA)
Rep. Peter Welch (D-VT)
Rep. Todd Young (R-IN)


become a member       become a member       become a member       become a member       become a member      
Scroll to Top