Just the Facts

Five Facts on the History of Pride

By Emma Petasis
June 3, 2019 | Blog

June is Pride Month which celebrates members of the LGBTQ+ community. In honor of the celebration, these are 5 facts on the history of Pride.

1. 2019 marks the 50thanniversary of the Stonewall Riots.

The Stonewall Inn was a bar in Greenwich Village which was operating without a liquor license since the N.Y. State Liquor Authority would not provide licenses to any establishment serving gay patrons. On June 28, 1969 police officers entered the bar without a warrant and proceeded to arrest patrons; while they were forced to wait outside the bar a crowd formed, and a riot ensued.[1] The “Stonewall riots” were considered a galvanizing moment that gave momentum to the gay rights movement.

2. New York was the birthplace of Pride in 1970.

On the one-year anniversary of the Stonewall Riots, a march 51 blocks long in New York took place as both a protest and celebration. Created as a political statement, LGBT citizens became more visible to the public. This march took place additionally in Chicago, Los Angeles, and San Francisco.[2]

3. The rainbow LGBT flag is prominently displayed throughout the month.

The iconic symbol for Pride has become the rainbow flag, created by U.S. Army veteran and gay rights activist Gilbert Baker in 1978. ABC News reports that Baker intended each color of the flag to have a meaning: red for life, orange for healing, yellow for sunlight, green for nature, blue for harmony and violet for spirit.[3]

4. President Bill Clinton became the first president to issue a proclamation marking June as Pride Month.

Issuing a proclamation marking June as Pride Month, President Bill Clinton marked the 30thanniversary of the Stonewall uprising as “Gay and Lesbian Pride Month” on June 11, 1999.[4]

5. President Trump was the first Republican president to acknowledge LGBT Pride Month.

Following President Clinton, President George W. Bush did not issue any statements regarding Pride or proclamations during his presidency. President Barack Obama did continue the practice and declared June Pride Month for the entirety of his administration. Last Friday, President Trump became the first Republican president to acknowledge the celebration of Pride Month and he also condemned the criminalization and wrongful persecution of homosexuality.[5]






Join us

Stay up to date.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.